Book Reviews

Live Life in Full Bloom

A must read devotional. Mary’s words are from her heart. I can see every story, as if I was standing there watching it happen. I laughed so hard at some of the stories because, life happens in unexpected ways. The stories of her family and friends are heart warming. I am going to go to her site, Mary Rodman.com/shop, and look for the “Blessings “ journal so I can dig deeper into HIS words!
Thank you Mary! I look forward to your next book.
TGJ, May 29, 2019

Perfect daily devotional for women! Having read her first devotional “Bloom Where You’re Planted”, I knew what to expect from “-Full Bloom”. I think this devotional is perfect for a daily quick read, whether you enjoy it with your cup of coffee in the morning or let her stories soak in right before bed. Her devotionals are simplistic yet meaningful and relatable to most all women. I love how she gives suggested Scripture readings to follow up with!
Amazon Customer, May 23, 2019

Transforms daily life into a walk with God. Mary has a great talent for taking everyday happenings, both great and small, and transforming them into moments to be shared with God. She writes with feelings, humor, and a humble heart. It is obvious that she is in a personal relationship with God and her devotions encourage all readers to strive for that same connection. She uses her family and her own experiences as examples to show how the bible is relevant today. This book will be read many times. I will definitely recommend it to friends and family.
Michele King May, 12, 2019

Perfectly Lovely! What a beautiful devotional book! I love the wonderful stories Mary weaves throughout the book. She is a gifted writer sharing hope and the love of our God, who makes our lives far from mundane. Even in sharing about her bathroom remodel, she shares golden nuggets like, “I pray every drop of water from my new rain shower head will remind me Christ washes away my sins.” Awesome!
Doris Swift, May 11, 2019

Uplifting and inspirational readings. This is the second book, which I have read by Mary Rodman. The short readings will inspire you to think about happenings in one’s own life and appreciate them as part of God’s plan for us. The readings can be part of one’s daily devotions; or they can be selected based on personal needs. Mary shares her life’s joys and concerns in a way we all can connect. Many readings have suggested Bible readings to challenge us to dig deeper and grow in our faith. This book would be a wonderful addition to any Bible study. I plan to share this book with family and friends as I did with her first one.
JS, May 9, 2019

Bible based scripture and references throughout. Mary’s book is so easy to relate to with ordinary life stories and how they fit in with the Bible. Very easy to understand and make you want to continue reading.
DKJ, May 9, 2019

Mary helps us see life from a new perspective. It requires us to slow down! Mary has a way of taking an ordinary day and seeing God’s blessings and miracles sprinkled throughout. As we rush through our busy lives, we miss so many of these wonderful “gifts.” Take a deep breath, slow down, and enjoy Mary’s perspective on living life with our eyes wide open to what God is doing in and around us, every single day. It will bless you to see things from this new awareness of His Presence.
Susan Knight, May 8, 2019

Great devotional! I loved this devotional. A great reminder to look for God in every seemingly ordinary event. Thank you Mary for sharing so much of yourself with us in this second book. I know I probably should have read one devotion a day but I couldn’t put it down. I would highly recommend.
Kindle Customer, May 8, 2019

An amazing devotional! Live Life in Full Bloom is an amazing devotional. Mary is a wonderful author that uses life experiences to inspire her readers. Each devotional has a real life story that is accompanied with scriptures. Live Life in Full Bloom is a devotional that is a must read! Thanks Mary.
K. Retterer, May 7, 2019

How transforming this book can be in ones life! This devotional definitely brings to life the Godly lessons we can learn from everyday situations that we all experience. Thanks Mary for showing us, that if we seek God with all our heart, life is no longer mundane! This is a must read!
Mary Rogers, May 7, 2019

Heart warming devotions. I so enjoyed reading this along with morning devotions. Heart warming stories that helps you see Christ in everyday living.
Beth Mowry, May 7, 2019

What a beautiful devotional book! I love the wonderful stories Mary weaves throughout the book. She is a gifted writer sharing hope and the love of our God, who makes our lives far from mundane. Even in sharing about her bathroom remodel, she shares golden nuggets like, “I pray every drop of water from my new rain shower head will remind me Christ washes away my sins.” Awesome!
Doris Swift, Author of “Goodbye, Regret: Forgiving Yourself of Past Mistakes”

A good devotion or devotional book contains elements of nostalgia, scripture, actionable faith, relatable life circumstances and something to discern in my own life. Mary does a masterful job in her craft of checking these boxes. As an agriculture business, we are proud to now “Live Life in Full Bloom” as Mary already shared with us how to “Bloom Where You’re Planted.”
Integrity Ag Group, Heath Conklin and Michael Rushing

“Live Life in Full Bloom leaves you with…a sense of happiness, hope and sense of peace of God’s love and understanding.  Mary’s work is easy to read, and her devotional will touch your life in a similar way.”
David C. Thorbahn

Bloom Where You’re Planted

This book is a delight! This beautifully written book is a delight, filled with wonderful stories from her life and awesome applications of God’s truth. It will lift you up and speak words of truth and encouragement into your life. It will not only bless you but makes a wonderful gift to bless others. Mary has a delightful way of balancing laughter and tears while showing how God works all things together for good.
Doris, Edgewater Alliance Church, Edgewater Florida, March 2018

Bloom. A collection of stories and God’s moments that the author has experienced and wants to share with the reader. The collection covers different subjects and can be a help to all who reads them. She shares how her experiences has helped her grow as a believer and gave her hope many times. The collection can be read as a devotional or just for that moments you need a little encouragement. I found different ones very helpful. There is a table of contents that can be used to direct you to a certain subject in case you want to share a story with your family, friends or study group. They are easy to read with down to earth writing which makes them easy to understand. I think you will enjoy the stories and information the author shares. As the author writes in the introduction:
“Sometimes life offers us sorrow and pain. Though walking through the difficulties of life be can trying, it is during these times that we grow the most. God didn’t promise that all our days would be filled with joy, but He did promise to always be with us.” She hopes her book will help all in need.

The ebook I received was easy to navigate and to take along on trips for those times you wanted to have something to read.

I received this ebook free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggersbook review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
G. Winholt, September 13, 2017

I love the way Mary uses everyday life experiences to connect … I was blessed to have been given a copy of Mary Rodman’s “Bloom Where You’re Planted” for Christmas 2016 by a dear friend. I love the way Mary uses everyday life experiences to connect with God. She has a gift for writing and her short devotionals are “just right” for a daily read. Mary’s words really spoke to me and has helped me look for God’s presence in all that I see and do; to be more mindful to reflect Jesus to all those I encounter and to “bloom where I’m planted”! This book is perfect for individuals or group bible studies. I highly recommend this book and look forward to Mary’s future writings.
Nancy, July 5, 2017

Inspirational. Reading in our Bible Study. So inspiring!
perfectonce, June 15, 2017

Like sitting down with a mentor to chat. Sometimes the Lord blesses us with deep Christian friends whom we can talk to regularly and help us along the way. During other seasons it feels like no one around us is like-minded. Bloom Where You’re Planted is like sitting down with a mentor and friend as you read.

We all have moments of frustration with whatever our current life-path is. Sometimes it is hard to forget God has placed us where we are for a very definite purpose. Although each devotion focuses on a different area, the theme is the same: You aren’t where you are by accident. Seek God fully and see what He has in store for you there.

The style is conversational and easy to digest, although the content is not surface material alone. I felt everything had a solid biblical undertone and appreciated the way theological truths were taught in a simple, yet full way. Although themed together, many different areas of the Christian walk were also addressed.

The only negative I saw was that the reader is not encouraged to open the Bible for themselves. It is nice for the Scripture to be printed in the book and that can be beneficial in some circumstances, but I like my devotionals to encourage me to get into the Word on my own.

I do recommend this title as the content is biblical and encouraging as well as being more than just surface faith. I would, however, not read this as my only daily time with the Lord because it does not spend much time in Scripture or encourage the reader to look in their own Bibles.
Kindle Customer, May 24, 2017

Very Good Devotional. Greetings everyone! I just wanted to tell you how much I have enjoyed this devotional. I had an experience that when I read another devotional then this one I found they coincided. I love when God does that. I have learned to pay attention when He does this because I find there is a lesson to be learned. I found the devotional very relatable to my life in ways. This one part stuck out for me; Gloria Gaither once said, “When we read of the great Biblical leaders, we see that it was not uncommon for God to ask them to wait, not just a day or two, but for years, until God was ready for them to act.” I found this even true with God’s healing. I had a medical mystery with my chest. This took over ten years to finally repair. I am happy now that things are better, but it was a long road; glad I kept my faith and trusted God for His healing. I am now able to help others that struggle too. This experience has changed me in so many ways. I am planning on sharing this with some friends. I was given a copy for my personal review. My review is my opinion alone.
DaddysLilRose, March 28, 2017

It is wonderful how well each chapter is written. I could really relate to the stories and the how they relate to verses in the Bible is great to learn. Great book for all to read and enjoy!!
Amazon Customer, December 18, 2016

Fabulous devotional! Loved this book! Would be a great gift for anyone needing encouragement! Mary had a gift for sharing how she sees God all around her.
Lori, December 10, 2016

Easy to understand. I’m only a third of the way through the book as I am reading one devotional a day. The stories are heartwarming. Mary writes in a way that is friendly and very thought provoking. Real life stuff, easy to understand. This book will stir your heart to have a deeper relationship with God. Totally enjoying it!!
Amazon Customer, December 5, 2016

I love this devotional! It has relatable stories with corresponding scriptures. I loved it so much I bought 2 more copies for family members.
Beth Mowry, December 2, 2016

For someone who much prefers paper or hardbound books, I feel it shows just how wonderful this book is, that I was able to enjoy it as an eBook.

And, while I personally much prefer KJV Bible verses, I like the versions the author used, and the way she mixed them up in the text. The chosen verses work very well in each usage.

All in all, an exceptional devotional. I would definitely recommend it to anyone with a love of flowers or just an interest in blooming as a follower of Christ.
JC Morrows

This daily devotional book is one that touches your soul and helps you to connect to everyday things that help us to remember Him wherever we are. I found that you could read the devotions in order or pick one that meets your needs. It is a book to read over and over again.
It is a wonderful gift for those strong in faith and those just “blossoming”. The addition of verses directs us to read the Bible and find further understanding.
Thank you for writing from your heart. Reading your words provides readers with hope, peace, and comfort.
Anonymous

Thank you for sharing BLOOM. The book is very up-lifting; there are real life experiences that I really appreciated. I couldn’t help but think about my own life and agreed with the title BLOOM. What an excellent title. I thank you for your love, endurance, faith and patience in sharing your life. This book, I will read again…EXCELENT
beverops

I loved this devotional……very down to earth and relatable to your everyday life. I have read several devotionals and this one is my favorite!
Beth Mowry

The daily devotions in Mary’s book are absolutely wonderful. Each devotional applies to life and is an encouragement to read every day. Mary has definitely written these devotions from the heart. Thanks Mary for taking us along with you on your journey with the Lord.
Kim Retterer

Mary does an excellent job of using real life experiences to connect with God. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who needs a word of encouragement or a way to look at everyday experiences in the light of God’s grace
Angie H

This beautifully written book is a delight, filled with wonderful stories from her life and awesome applications of God’s truth. It will lift you up and speak words of truth and encouragement into your life. It will not only bless you but makes a wonderful gift to bless others. Mary has a delightful way of balancing laughter and tears while showing how God works all things together for good.
Doris, Edgewater Alliance Church, Edgewater Florida, March 2018

Mary Rodman is a talented author who has inspired me to be better in her glorious, inspiring devotional book that is the perfect book for Christians. Her beautiful, moving words and stories will have all readers falling madly in love with her extraordinary talent. I admire her so much for writing her book and think she has done an excellent job; so if you are a reader looking for a devotional book, then please read this wonderful book because it is beautiful.
Red Headed Book Lover Blog

“Having Mary’s book in my store has been more of a blessing than I could have imagined. She’s by far my best selling local author at almost 100 in a year! People love Mary and they love that they can come here and get her book. I even have a customer that orders 10 or more at a time so she can pass them out when she feels a person needs it. She’s definitely been a local success story.”
Susan, Lighthouse Christian Books, Marysville, OH

“Mary Rodman’s book, ‘Bloom Where You’re Planted’, was a must read part of my daily devotions. She shared everyday experiences in a new light of what God’s grace and love offers. Some of those experiences made me laugh out loud, while others brought tears. All of them reflected life lessons and blessings. It is truly a delightful read.”
A Sister in Christ, Sue Mann-Foreman, Petersburg, MI

“Our women’s Bible study group has thoroughly enjoyed studying Mary Rodman’s book ‘Bloom Where You’re Planted.’ We find so much to discuss in just one short chapter. Every chapter she writes is scripture based. We can really relate to Mary’s stories in our day to day lives and our walk with Jesus Christ. So thought provoking and easy to understand as it relates with her daily living and her walk with Jesus.”
Denys Jones, member of Old Stone Presbyterian Church Bible Study

“Mary Rodman’s book ‘Bloom Where You’re Planted,’ really hit home to me. Every page touched my heart. She is home spun and down to earth. Reading her devotional book was a delight to my heart and soul.”
Pamela Peters, Fulton Creek Evangelical Friends Church

I was blessed to have been given a copy of Mary Rodman’s ‘Bloom Where You’re Planted’ for Christmas 2016 by a dear friend. I love the way Mary uses everyday life experiences to connect with God. She has a gift for writing and her short devotionals are ‘just right’ for a daily read. Mary’s words really spoke to me and has helped me look for God’s presence in all that I see and do; to be more mindful to reflect Jesus to all those I encounter and to ‘bloom where I’m planted’! This book is perfect for individuals or group bible studies. I highly recommend this book and look forward to Mary’s future writings.
Nancy Bowman, July 5, 2017

“Greetings everyone! I just wanted to tell you how much I have enjoyed this devotional. I had an experience that when I read another devotional then this one I found they coincided. I love when God does that. I have learned to pay attention when He does this because I find there is a lesson to be learned. God has a way of getting our attention any way He can. You may not always see at first just how He gets your attention until afterwards. I found the devotional very relatable to my life in ways.  This one part stuck out for me; Gloria Gaither once said, ‘When we read of the great Biblical leaders, we see that it was not uncommon for God to ask them to wait, not just a day or two, but for years, until God was ready for them to act.’ I found this even true with God’s healing. I had a medical mystery with my chest. This took over ten years to finally repair. I am happy now that things are better, but it was a long road; glad I kept my faith and trusted God for His healing. I am now able to help others that struggle too. This experience has changed me in so many ways. I look forward not back; I look up not down. When I notice something I couldn’t do I praise God I can. I am planning on sharing this with some friends.”
Leah Pagliaroli, NY