Book Reviews

Reviews

Amazon

I’m only a third of the way through the book as I am reading one devotional a day. The stories are heartwarming. Mary writes in a way that is friendly and very thought provoking. Real life stuff, easy to understand. This book will stir your heart to have a deeper relationship with God. Totally enjoying it!!

Reading in our Bible Study. So inspiring!

June 15, 2017

It is wonderful how well each chapter is written. I could really relate to the stories and the how they relate to verses in the Bible is great to learn. Great book for all to read and enjoy!!

December 18, 2016

I love this devotional! It has relatable stories with corresponding scriptures. I loved it so much I bought 2 more copies for family members.

December 2, 2016

Loved this book! Would be a great gift for anyone needing encouragement! Mary had a gift for sharing how she sees God all around her.

December 10, 2016

A collection of stories and God’s moments that the author has experienced and wants to share with the reader. The collection covers different subjects and can be a help to all who reads them. She shares how her experiences has helped her grow as a believer and gave her hope many times. The collection can be read as a devotional or just for that moments you need a little encouragement. I found different ones very helpful. There is a table of contents that can be used to direct you to a certain subject in case you want to share a story with your family, friends or study group. They are easy to read with down to earth writing which makes them easy to understand. I think you will enjoy the stories and information the author shares. As the author writes in the introduction:
“Sometimes life offers us sorrow and pain. Though walking through the difficulties of life be can trying, it is during these times that we grow the most. God didn’t promise that all our days would be filled with joy, but He did promise to always be with us.” She hopes her book will help all in need.
The ebook I received was easy to navigate and to take along on trips for those times you wanted to have something to read.

I received this ebook free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggersbook review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255

September 13, 2017

Sometimes the Lord blesses us with deep Christian friends whom we can talk to regularly and help us along the way. During other seasons it feels like no one around us is like-minded. Bloom Where You’re Planted is like sitting down with a mentor and friend as you read.

We all have moments of frustration with whatever our current life-path is. Sometimes it is hard to forget God has placed us where we are for a very definite purpose. Although each devotion focuses on a different area, the theme is the same: You aren’t where you are by accident. Seek God fully and see what He has in store for you there.

The style is conversational and easy to digest, although the content is not surface material alone. I felt everything had a solid biblical undertone and appreciated the way theological truths were taught in a simple, yet full way. Although themed together, many different areas of the Christian walk were also addressed.

The only negative I saw was that the reader is not encouraged to open the Bible for themselves. It is nice for the Scripture to be printed in the book and that can be beneficial in some circumstances, but I like my devotionals to encourage me to get into the Word on my own.

I do recommend this title as the content is biblical and encouraging as well as being more than just surface faith. I would, however, not read this as my only daily time with the Lord because it does not spend much time in Scripture or encourage the reader to look in their own Bibles.

May 24, 2017

Sometimes the Lord blesses us with deep Christian friends whom we can talk to regularly and help us along the way. During other seasons it feels like no one around us is like-minded. Bloom Where You’re Planted is like sitting down with a mentor and friend as you read.

We all have moments of frustration with whatever our current life-path is. Sometimes it is hard to forget God has placed us where we are for a very definite purpose. Although each devotion focuses on a different area, the theme is the same: You aren’t where you are by accident. Seek God fully and see what He has in store for you there.

The style is conversational and easy to digest, although the content is not surface material alone. I felt everything had a solid biblical undertone and appreciated the way theological truths were taught in a simple, yet full way. Although themed together, many different areas of the Christian walk were also addressed.

The only negative I saw was that the reader is not encouraged to open the Bible for themselves. It is nice for the Scripture to be printed in the book and that can be beneficial in some circumstances, but I like my devotionals to encourage me to get into the Word on my own.

I do recommend this title as the content is biblical and encouraging as well as being more than just surface faith. I would, however, not read this as my only daily time with the Lord because it does not spend much time in Scripture or encourage the reader to look in their own Bibles.

Greetings everyone! I just wanted to tell you how much I have enjoyed this devotional. I had an experience that when I read another devotional then this one I found they coincided. I love when God does that. I have learned to pay attention when He does this because I find there is a lesson to be learned. I found the devotional very relatable to my life in ways. This one part stuck out for me; Gloria Gaither once said, “When we read of the great Biblical leaders, we see that it was not uncommon for God to ask them to wait, not just a day or two, but for years, until God was ready for them to act.” I found this even true with God’s healing. I had a medical mystery with my chest. This took over ten years to finally repair. I am happy now that things are better, but it was a long road; glad I kept my faith and trusted God for His healing. I am now able to help others that struggle too. This experience has changed me in so many ways. I am planning on sharing this with some friends. I was given a copy for my personal review. My review is my opinion alone.

I had the pleasure of meeting Mary this past week and received a complimentary copy of her book. I invited her to speak to my women’s group and what an amazing blessing she was to all of us! Her humor and warmth are infectious and we felt like we had known her for years. This beautifully written book is a delight, filled with wonderful stories from her life and awesome applications of God’s truth. It will lift you up and speak words of truth and encouragement into your life. It will not only bless you but makes a wonderful gift to bless others. Mary has a delightful way of balancing laughter and tears while showing how God works all things together for good.

I was blessed to have been given a copy of Mary Rodman’s “Bloom Where You’re Planted” for Christmas 2016 by a dear friend. I love the way Mary uses everyday life experiences to connect with God. She has a gift for writing and her short devotionals are “just right” for a daily read. Mary’s words really spoke to me and has helped me look for God’s presence in all that I see and do; to be more mindful to reflect Jesus to all those I encounter and to “bloom where I’m planted”! This book is perfect for individuals or group bible studies. I highly recommend this book and look forward to Mary’s future writings.

The daily devotions in this book are absolutely wonderful. Each devotional applies to life and is an encouragement to read every day. Mary definitely writes from the heart.

MaryRodman.com

This beautifully written book is a delight, filled with wonderful stories from her life and awesome applications of God’s truth. It will lift you up and speak words of truth and encouragement into your life. It will not only bless you but makes a wonderful gift to bless others. Mary has a delightful way of balancing laughter and tears while showing how God works all things together for good.

– Doris, Edgewater Alliance Church, Edgewater Florida, March 2018

Mary Rodman is a talented author who has inspired me to be better in her glorious, inspiring devotional book that is the perfect book for Christians. Her beautiful, moving words and stories will have all readers falling madly in love with her extraordinary talent. I admire her so much for writing her book and think she has done an excellent job; so if you are a reader looking for a devotional book, then please read this wonderful book because it is beautiful. Continue reading…

– Red Headed Book Lover Blog

“Having Mary’s book in my store has been more of a blessing than I could have imagined. She’s by far my best selling local author at almost 100 in a year! People love Mary and they love that they can come here and get her book. I even have a customer that orders 10 or more at a time so she can pass them out when she feels a person needs it. She’s definitely been a local success story.”

– Susan, Lighthouse Christian Books, Marysville, OH

“Mary Rodman’s book, ‘Bloom Where You’re Planted’, was a must read part of my daily devotions. She shared everyday experiences in a new light of what God’s grace and love offers. Some of those experiences made me laugh out loud, while others brought tears. All of them reflected life lessons and blessings. It is truly a delightful read.”

– A Sister in Christ, Sue Mann-Foreman, Petersburg, MI

“Our women’s Bible study group has thoroughly enjoyed studying Mary Rodman’s book ‘Bloom Where You’re Planted.’ We find so much to discuss in just one short chapter. Every chapter she writes is scripture based. We can really relate to Mary’s stories in our day to day lives and our walk with Jesus Christ. So thought provoking and easy to understand as it relates with her daily living and her walk with Jesus.”

– Denys Jones, member of Old Stone Presbyterian Church Bible Study

“Mary Rodman’s book ‘Bloom Where You’re Planted,’ really hit home to me. Every page touched my heart. She is home spun and down to earth. Reading her devotional book was a delight to my heart and soul.”

– Pamela Peters, Fulton Creek Evangelical Friends Church

I was blessed to have been given a copy of Mary Rodman’s ‘Bloom Where You’re Planted’ for Christmas 2016 by a dear friend. I love the way Mary uses everyday life experiences to connect with God. She has a gift for writing and her short devotionals are ‘just right’ for a daily read. Mary’s words really spoke to me and has helped me look for God’s presence in all that I see and do; to be more mindful to reflect Jesus to all those I encounter and to ‘bloom where I’m planted’! This book is perfect for individuals or group bible studies. I highly recommend this book and look forward to Mary’s future writings.

– Nancy Bowman, July 5, 2017

“Greetings everyone! I just wanted to tell you how much I have enjoyed this devotional. I had an experience that when I read another devotional then this one I found they coincided. I love when God does that. I have learned to pay attention when He does this because I find there is a lesson to be learned. God has a way of getting our attention any way He can. You may not always see at first just how He gets your attention until afterwards. I found the devotional very relatable to my life in ways.  This one part stuck out for me; Gloria Gaither once said, ‘When we read of the great Biblical leaders, we see that it was not uncommon for God to ask them to wait, not just a day or two, but for years, until God was ready for them to act.’ I found this even true with God’s healing. I had a medical mystery with my chest. This took over ten years to finally repair. I am happy now that things are better, but it was a long road; glad I kept my faith and trusted God for His healing. I am now able to help others that struggle too. This experience has changed me in so many ways. I look forward not back; I look up not down. When I notice something I couldn’t do I praise God I can. I am planning on sharing this with some friends.”

– Leah Pagliaroli, NY

ChristianBook.com

Mary does an excellent job of using real life experiences to connect with God. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who needs a word of encouragement or a way to look at everyday experiences in the light of God’s grace.

Barnes & Noble

For someone who much prefers paper or hardbound books, I feel it shows just how wonderful this book is, that I was able to enjoy it as an eBook.

And, while I personally much prefer KJV Bible verses, I like the versions the author used, and the way she mixed them up in the text. The chosen verses work very well in each usage.

All in all, an exceptional devotional. I would definitely recommend it to anyone with a love of flowers or just an interest in blooming as a follower of Christ.

This daily devotional book is one that touches your soul and helps you to connect to everyday things that help us to remember Him wherever we are. I found that you could read the devotions in order or pick one that meets your needs. It is a book to read over and over again.

It is a wonderful gift for those strong in faith and those just “blossoming”. The addition of verses directs us to read the Bible and find further understanding.
Thank you for writing from your heart. Reading your words provides readers with hope, peace, and comfort.